Guides: Referencing and citing: Zotero

Contact us

Email Me

Get started with Zotero

Zotero is a popular, open-source, free, reference manager. Zotero is used across all subject areas and works with all referencing styles.

Zotero integrates with your web browser, allows you to save and sync across multiple devices, and is compatible with many word processors and document editors, including Microsoft Word, LibreOffice Writer, and Google Docs.

Set up tasks

Register for a free Zotero account
Set up an account with your personal email address and you can keep the account when you graduate. Get 300MB online storage, free of charge, for saving references, file attachments, and notes.
Need more storage? Don't worry. Register for a free account and then use the Linked Files function to save your file attachments in your iCloud, OneDrive, Google Drive, Dropbox, or other online storage.
Download and install Zotero and a web browser Zotero Connector
Set up Zotero syncing
Use syncing to create an online backup. To save and access your references across multiple devices Data Synching is essential. The easiest attached file synching option uses Zotero Storage. If you need more storage space for file attachments, read the Alternative Syncing Solutions section for Linked Files function instructions.
Read Zotero quick start guide
Get an overview of Zotero's features with links to more detailed instructions.

Where should I save my Zotero Library on my computer?

Important: You must save your Zotero Library on your computer's local hard drive, in a folder that is not on networked storage and does not sync to online storage.

When you install Zotero you will be asked where you want to save a local copy of your Zotero Library. Saving your local Zotero Library on networked storage or in a folder synced to online storage, such as iCloud, OneDrive, Google Drive, or Dropbox, will cause poor performance and corrupt your Zotero Library.

On your personal computer save your Zotero Library to your computer C:drive. You might like to create a folder on the C:drive just for your Zotero Library. Set up Zotero syncing to create an online backup.
On a University computer add a folder on the D:drive. Personalise the folder name so you can identify it as your Zotero folder. Save your Zotero Library in this folder. The University's Digital Solutions will not back up the D:drive so make sure you set up Zotero syncing to create your own online backup.

You can use any storage location for your file attachments added as Linked Files but your Zotero account online storage, using Zotero syncing, is the only safe online access and synced backup for your Zotero Library.

Zotero online account log in
Log in to see your Zotero Library synced online backup.

Start using Zotero

Review the handout and video tutorial to get started using Zotero.

Get started with Zotero handout
Use this handout to set up Zotero, configure your preferences, and get started using Zotero as your reference manager.

Build your Zotero Library. There are lots of ways to add items to your Library.

Add references to your Zotero Library
How to use the web browser Zotero Connector, and other ways, to add items to your Zotero Library.
Attach files in Zotero
Add file attachments to your references. Store them with your Zotero Library or if you've got lots of file attachments add them as Linked Files.
Import PDF files to Zotero and retrieve PDF metadata
If you have PDF files of your references, use this function to quickly add them. With high-quality PDF files Zotero can extract the reference details and add them to your Zotero Library.
Add RSS feeds to Zotero
Use Zotero as your RSS feed aggregator and easily save feed items into your Zotero Library.
Import to Zotero from other reference management software
Used EndNote, Mendeley, or other reference managers before? Find out how to easily move your references into your Zotero library.

Change sort order and columns displayed in Zotero
Customise the way your references are displayed. Show/hide the columns you want and sort your references in an order that makes sense to you.
Create collections and add tags to organise your Zotero Library
Collections are like folders but each reference in your Zotero Library can belong to more than one collection. Tags allow you to search and filter across all references, in all collections.
Take notes and save them in your Zotero Library
Write notes about each reference or save standalone notes, for example keeping track of your research process.
Search your Zotero Library
Search through your entire Library or within a specific collection. Search your notes. Search the full text of PDF files. Saved searches display as a collection that is continuously updated as you add new items to your Library.

Install additional referencing styles to Zotero
If your Zotero is missing the referencing style you need, you can probably find it and install it from the Zotero Style Repository.
Create a bibliography using Zotero's Quick Copy
Quickly create a standalone bibliography by simply selecting the references to include from your Zotero Library, and the referencing style to use for formatting.
Cite as you write with Zotero word processor plugins
Insert in-text citations, and automatically generate footnotes or a reference list, as you write. Works with all referencing styles. Plugins available for Microsoft Word, LibreOffice Writer, and Google Docs. Third-party plugins are available for other document editors such as Scrivener, LaTeX plain text editors, and Overleaf.

Using Zotero and Google Docs handout
Follow the steps in this handout to get your your Zotero Library integrated with your Google Docs so you can cite as you write.

Explore some of the advanced features that can improve your Zotero experience.

Preferences - edit Zotero settings
Find out which settings you can customise to make Zotero work better for you.
Groups - share your Zotero Library
Use Group Libraries to share your references and collaborate with other Zotero users.
Plugins - add extra features to Zotero
Explore third-party plugins that enhance Zotero features and integrate Zotero with other software and tools.
Zotero for mobile devices
Access and edit your Zotero Library from your tablet or mobile phone.

Zotero is supported by the online community of Zotero users and developers.

FAQs - Zotero frequently asked questions
Getting help with Zotero
Zotero users' discussion forums
Read How Zotero Support Works, and the Zotero Forum Guidelines before you join a discussion.
Reporting Zotero problems
You need to provide very specific information when you report an error, especially if you want a quick response.