Te Pātaka Kōrero
Examine contemporary accounts from American history.
Medieval and early modern
British Isles and Empire
New Zealand history
People in history
Find background information
Find book reviews
Assignment research help
+64 4 463 6176
Make an appointment
A primary source is an immediate, first-hand, or contemporary account of an event or topic.
Age of Exploration
Scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes.
Cold War: Voices of Confrontation and Conciliation
Transcripts of oral recollections of a number of major players in the Civil War interviewed between 1997 and 2001.
Digital National Security Archive
Significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945.
Early English Books Online: EEBO
Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Images of original manuscripts and printed material from 1492. Includes thematic essays covering such topics as cultural contacts, trade, religion, race and colonialism.
Everyday Life and Women in America Online, c.1820-1900
Rare books, periodicals, pamphlets tracts. Insight into American political and social issues, religion, family life, medicine, education.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement and Colonial Encounters
The lives, experiences and colonial encounters of people living in the frontiers of North America, Africa, Australia and New Zealand. Covers 1650-1920.
Keesing's World News Archive
Archive of detailed summaries of the world's political, social, and economic events beginning in 1931.
Making of Modern Law
Digital images of legal treaties on US and British law published between 1800 and 1926.
Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990
Records of the ACLU focusing on civil rights, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.
Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest
Post-war British and American popular culture. Includes manuscript sources, visual ,material, and video clips. Covers topics such as student activism and civil rights.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007
Original manuscrpts, rare printed material, and contextual essays on trans-Atlantic slavery,,slave resistance,and revolts, slave testimony, abolitionism, etc.
Through the Camera Lens: The Moving Picture World and the Silent Cinema Era, 1907-1927
Facsimile of "The Moving Picture World" - influential trade magazine for the American film industry from 1907 to 1927. News, reviews, feature articles..
Virginia Company Archives
Records of the Virginia Company of London and Ferrar papers. Covers trade between Britain and America, and religious and social history of early modern England.
British Isles and Empire
Nov 23, 2021 10:04 AM
Login to LibApps
Humanities & Social Science