Te Pātaka Kōrero
British Isles and Empire
British Isles and Empire
Discover the history of the British Isles and the British Empire through primary sources.
Medieval and early modern
British Isles and Empire
New Zealand history
People in history
Find background information
Find book reviews
Assignment research help
+64 4 463 6176
Make an appointment
A primary source is an immediate, first-hand, or contemporary account of an event or topic.
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection
Newspapers and pamphlets mostly published in London; some from provincial England, Ireland, Europe, American colonies, and India included.
Age of Exploration
Scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes.
British Library Newspapers
Provides access to local and regional newspapers published in the 18th to the mid-20th century.
British History Online
Sources for the history of the British Isles from the 11th to the 19th centuries. Includes histories of the countries of England, letters, diaries.
Full text access to periodicals from the 1860s to the 1930s covering history, philosophy, science, and the arts.
Documents gathered by William and Robert Cecil, who occupied some of the highest offices of state covering the period 1520-1612.
Early English Books Online: EEBO
Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Images of original manuscripts and printed material from 1492. Includes thematic essays covering such topics as cultural contacts, trade, religion, race and colonialism.
English Historical Documents
Over 5,500 indexed and fully searchable primary documents from 500-1914.
English Reports: Full Reprint (1220-1867)
Page images of over 100,000 early English court cases that laid the foundation for the laws of nations under the British Empire and elsewhere.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Bills, House Papers, Command papers and Select Committee Records covering 1688-2010. Full text and subject indexing.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003)
The entire run of the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper reproduced in full colour.
Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991
Weekly publication established by the BBC discussing radio, television and musical programmes.
London Lives 1690 to 1800: Crime, Poverty and Social Policy in the Metropolis
Particularly focused on plebeian Londoners. Manuscripts and printed pages from eight London archives and fifteen datasets.
Making of Modern Law
Digital images of legal treaties on US and British law published between 1800 and 1926.
Mass Observation Online
Material from the Mass Observation Archive providing insights into the cultural and social history of Britain from 1937 to 1967.
Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online: MEMSO
State papers, chronicles, accounts, and correspondence from the archives of Britain, Ireland, and continental Europe.
Palmer's Index to the Times, 1790-1905
Full indexes of The Times newspaper from 1790 to 1905. Page images for 1800-1970.
Perdita Manuscripts I: Women Writers, 1500-1700
Manuscripts written or compiled by women in the British Isles. Also biographical and bibliographical resources and contextual essays.
Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest
Post-war British and American popular culture. Includes manuscript sources, visual ,material, and video clips. Covers topics such as student activism and civil rights.
Secret Files from World Wars to Cold War
British government secret intelligence and foreign policy files from 1873 to 1953. Enables research into intelligence, international relations, and military history.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007
Original manuscripts, rare printed material, and contextual essays on trans-Atlantic slavery, slave resistance and revolts, slave testimony, abolitionism, etc.
State Papers Online: The Government of Britain, 1509-1714
Papers of the Secretaries of State; correspondence, reports from civil servants and administrators. Reveals information on social, religious,political, and economic affairs. Includes the Calendars which summarise the documents
Times Digital Archive (1785-1985)
Digital edition of The Times (London) from 1785 to 1985.
Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War
Over 1,500 periodicals by and for members of the armed forces from all nations during the First World War. Indexed and in full colour or greyscale.
Victorian Popular Culture: Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks
Popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe from the late 18th century until the 1930s. Biographies, reports, posters, photographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, and memorabilia.
Virginia Company Archives
Records of the Virginia Company of London and Ferrar papers. Covers trade between Britain and America, and religious and social history of early modern England.
Women in the National Archives
Finding Aid to Women's Studies resources in the National Archives (Kew) c 1559-1995. Includes original documents on the suffrage question in Britain and the Empire 1903-1962.
North America >>
Nov 23, 2021 10:04 AM
Login to LibApps
Humanities & Social Science