Guides: Nursing, Midwifery, and Health Practice: Pharmacology

Nursing, Midwifery, and Health Practice Librarian

She/her/hers

Email Me

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine online resources. A good place for the latest systematic reviews, clinical protocols and clinical trials.
Cochrane Library training hub.
Embase This link opens in a new window
One of the largest biomedical and pharmacology databases. Includes literature on pharmacology, medicine, mental health, public health, health policy, medical devices, conference abstracts and more. Well regarded for conducting systematic reviews.
More information and training material.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based clinical resource that includes access to expanded drug, disease, and alternative medicine information.
There is also training material (Webinars, videos, interactive software demonstrations and much more) available at the bottom of each website page.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
The worlds largest research database of biomedical and medical literature by the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM) and is freely available. Contains a range of evidence including clinical trials.
Try not to use quotations or truncation in PubMed.
A useful PubMed video for using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) terms.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
A clinical database designed for evidence-based clinical decision making. It includes; extensive material on diseases and drugs, patient education topics, treatment recommendations, graphics, drug interactions, calculators and a ‘What’s New and Practice Changing UpDates’ section.

Concise Medical Dictionary (10th ed.)
Written by a team of medical experts, this market-leading illustrated dictionary contains 12,400 authoritative entries covering all aspects of medical science.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine (5th ed.)
Information on medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics.
Dictionary of Pharmaceutical Medicine by Gerhard Nahler; Annette Mollet
The title combines dictionary and lexicon and provides the translational understanding of the complex drug development process.

Rang and Dale's Pharmacology (9th ed.) by James M. Ritter; Rod J. Flower; Graeme Henderson; Yoon Kong Loke; David MacEwan; Humphrey P. Rang
Publication Date: 2019
From cover to cover, you'll progressively increase your knowledge of all relevant aspects of pharmacology, from a molecular understanding of receptors and drug actions through clinical uses of key groups of drugs.
Pharmacology for Health Professionals (6th ed.) by Kathleen Knights; Andrew Rowland; Shaunagh Darroch; Mary Bushell
Publication Date: 2022
Pharmacology for Health Professionals, introduces essential pharmacology principles and concepts required to understand the therapeutic effects and clinical uses of current drugs and medicines. These topics include historical, legal and ethical considerations, pharmacokinetics, and the therapeutic applications and adverse effects of current Australian and New Zealand drugs.

PHARMAC news and publications
Articles and reports produced by PHARMAC research.
Medsafe
Provides safety information on medicine and medical devices in New Zealand.
The New Zealand Formulary
Providing clinically validated medicines information and guidance on best practice, enabling healthcare professionals to select safe and effective medicines for individual patients.
Medline Plus - Drugs, Herbs and Supplements
Prescription and over-the-counter medication information as well as information on herbs and supplements.