Strategic publishing

Find out more about scholarly publishing, predatory publishers, author rights and open access.

Read & Publish Agreements Negotiated by CAUL

The Read & Publish (R&P) agreements have been negotiated by the Council of Australian University Librarians (CAUL) Consortium, representing university libraries across Australia and New Zealand, including Te Herenga Waka—Victoria University of Wellington Library. These agreements enable Te Herenga Waka authors the opportunity to publish via Open Access, free of Article Processing Charges (APCs), while continuing to offer the University community access to the journals scholarly content.

To be eligible for the agreements, you need to be the sole author, or the corresponding author (a nominated member of the research team who deals with the publisher during the publishing process).

Below is the list of the publishers that signed the R&P agreements, which Te Herenga Waka—Victoria University of Wellington participates in. You can also search the alphabetical title list for all agreements (NB: some publishers on the list do not have an agreement with VUW).

Includes titles such as Applied Physics Letters, Journal of Applied Physics, and The Journal of Chemical Physics. View the full title list.

NB: There is a cap on how many articles are allowed to be published under the Agreement. Please click the publisher name link above to find out about the cap and the number of articles that have been published in the current year.

Includes titles such as Psychological Bulletin, American Psychologist, and Journal of Applied Psychology. View the full title list.

Includes titles such as Amphibia-Reptilia, Behaviour, and Multisensory Research. View the full title list.

Includes titles such as Acta Numerica, American Antiquity, and American Political Science Review. View the full title list.

Includes 5 titles: Development, Journal of Cell Science, Journal of Experimental Biology, Disease Models and Mechanisms, and Biology Open.

Includes titles such as Functional Plant Biology, Reproduction Fertility & Development, and Invertebrate Systematics. View the full title list.

Includes titles such as Applied Linguistics Review, the Asia-Pacific Journal of Risk and Insurance, and Multilingua. View the full title list.

Includes titles such as Science of the Total Environment, Women and Birth, and Chemical Engineering Journal. View the full title list.

NB: There is a cap on how many articles are allowed to be published under the Agreement. Please click the publisher name link above to find out about the cap and the number of articles that have been published in the current year.

Includes titles such as The Geological Society Special Publications, Journal of the Geological Society, and Petroleum Geoscienct. 

Includes titles such as Environmental Research Letters, Physics in Medicine & Biology and Journal of Physics A: Mathematical and Theoretical. View the full title list.

Includes titles such as Journal of Language Aggression and Conflict, Interpreting, and International Journal of Learner Corpus Research. View the full title list.

Includes titles such as Philosophical transactions A, Philosophical Transactions B, and Royal Society Open Science. View the full title list.

Includes titles such as Alternative Law Journal, AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples, and Australasian Psychiatry. View the full title list.

Includes titles such as Biophysical Reviews, Food Security, and New Zealand Journal of Educational Studies. View the full title list.

Important: The cap has reached its limit for the year 2023.

Includes titles such as Disability and Rehabilitation, Journal of Sports Sciences and Higher Education Research & Development. View the full title list.

NB: There is a cap on how many articles are allowed to be published under the Agreement. Please click the publisher name link above to find out about the cap and the number of articles that have been published in the current year.

Includes titles such as Advanced Materials, New Phytologist, and Reviews of Geophysics. View the full title list.

NB: There is a cap on how many articles are allowed to be published under the Agreement. Please click the publisher name link above to find out about the cap and the number of articles that have been published in the current year.