Library Guides

Environmental Humanities - He Aronui Aotūroa

Environmental Humanities is a new interdisciplinary field that examines how the arts and humanities help us better understand our relationships with the planet.

Environmental Humanities Librarian

Tools and tips - Chicago

Accurately citing and referencing the research you use in your assignment is a critical academic skill. 

The Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) is available through the Library and is the authoritative source on using CMOS. Purdue University OWL is a well regarded free guide that may also be of help.

Before you do anything you need to know which version of Chicago you will use:

  1. Notes and bibliography uses numbered footnotes or endnotes that correspond to a number in the text and includes a separate bibliography
  2. Author-date uses in-text citations which include the authors name and a year of publication in (parenthesis) that correspond to a full bibliographic entry

More tools:

  • ZoteroBib is a free website that allows you to make bibliographies via identifiers (ISBN, DOI, URLs etc) as well as manually.
  • Zotero is a free reference management tool that allows you to store readings, annotate PDFs and automatically generate citations.

Quick tip

Quotation mark icon used for citation button in the Te Waharoa library searchTry the citation button in Te Waharoa This is the simplest way to get the reference information but must be checked for accuracy. You will see this same symbol across academic databases and GoogleScholar.

Referencing examples

These examples include entries for a footnote if using the full-note version of the CMOS and the in-text citation if you are using the author-date version. The bibliographic entry remains the same for both versions.

Footnote: 
1. Susan Ballard, Art and Nature in the Anthropocene: Planetary Aesthetics (Oxford: Routledge, 2021), 17.
Author/date:
(Ballard 2021, 17)
Bibliography:
Ballard, Susan. Art and Nature in the Anthropocene: Planetary Aesthetics. Oxford: Routledge, 2021.

 

Footnote:
6. Muriel Harris, “Talk to Me: Engaging Reluctant Writers,” in A Tutor's Guide: Helping Writers One to One, ed. Ben Rafoth (New Hampshire: Heinemann, 2000), 24-34.    
Author/date:
(Harris 2000)
Bibliography:
Harris, Muriel. “Talk to Me: Engaging Reluctant Writers.” In A Tutor’s Guide: Helping Writers One to One, edited by Ben Rafoth, 24-34. New Hampshire: Heinemann, 2000.
Footnote:
1. Henry E. Bent, “Professionalization of the Ph.D. Degree,” College Composition and Communication 58, no. 4 (2007): 141, accessed December 4, 2017, http://www.jstor.org/stable/1978286.
Author/date:
(Bent 2017, 141)
Bibliography:
Bent, Henry E. "Professionalization of the Ph.D. Degree.” College Composition and Communication 58, no. 4 (2007): 0-145. Accessed December 4, 2017. http://www.jstor.org/stable/1978286.
Course Codes: ARTH, COMS, EHUM, ENGL, FILM, MDIA, THEA