Photo: Pixabay, CC0 License, Free for personal and commercial use
1) Consider what type of company information you need. You will probably want a range of information, which may include any of the following:
Company profiles
News and articles
Financial information, including annual reports,and share prices
Ownership structure
Mergers and acquisitions activity
Case studies involving companies
Historical information
Consumer information and market share
2) Then choose your sources using the information below.
Information available depends upon the company's status - public or private, large or small, and whether its activities are mentioned in magazines/newspapers.
By law, large public companies are required to produce an annual report. In New Zealand, small private companies are harder to research (especially if you're looking for financial information), but the Companies Office is a good place to start.
The news media are often the most easily accessible sources of information about a company. Look for media coverage of a company in press releases, and news and feature articles in the magazines, newspapers, periodicals, and journals that cover the industry.
NZ company directory with details of activities, brands, people, products and services searchable by 30 different criteria.
Katalyst Business has comprehensive profiles on 15,000 New Zealand business to business (B2B) companies including details on their activities, brands, people, products and services searchable by 30 different criteria. Covers the head offices of producers, manufacturers, publishers, franchisors, importers, exporters, wholesalers, agents and business service providers. Provides more extensive information and more search fields than any other NZ business database. Has turnover data for approximately 16% of the companies on the database.
You can use Katalyst to:
• Find new suppliers of products and services
• Research companies, markets and industries
• Identify and target key areas
• Produce lists for direct mail campaigns or surveys
• Find sales leads & make new contacts
• Put products in front of B2B purchasers
Export
You can export spreadsheets of Katalyst data for private use, e.g. in a mailing list or database import, using download credits; Download credits are $0.50 per company. Contact Katalyst to purchase credits. If you are just going to contact companies directly, on a one-to-one basis, you probably don't need download credits. More information at https://app.katalystbusiness.co.nz/pages/help
Annual publication from KPMG, provides financial data for banks, finance companies and savings institutions. Search for 'fips' or look under "Insights".
Scholarly journal articles about business and management. Company and industry publications such as economic reports, company profiles, and market research.
