We have a range of different collections among our published resources. They can mostly be found through Te Waharoa. Areas of strength are:
New Zealand and Pacific history:
- Horace Fildes collection
Horace Fildes was a Wellington book collector in the early 20th century. His collection includes books, notebooks, newspaper clippings and correspondence.
- New Zealand pamphlet collection
A general collection of New Zealand pamphlets from the 1840s onwards and Sir Robert Stout's bound collection of pamphlets (now available online).
- Seddon collection
The personal library of Richard John Seddon (Premier and Prime Minister of New Zealand from 1893-1906). This collection is rich in early colonial and military history.
New Zealand fine printing
This collection focuses on books or print objects created not just as carriers of information but as works of art and craftsmanship in themselves and includes examples from the Caxton Press, Holloway Press, Hawk Press, Kowhai Press, Pear Tree Press, Otago University's Bibliography Room, and our own Wai te Ata Press among others.
Print cultures exemplars
This collection has items representing print cultures from across the globe and through the ages, from papyrus to the present.
- Brancepeth Station Library
A collection of books which from 1884 until the 1949 formed the library of Brancepeth Station, once one of the largest properties in the Wairarapa.
- Swiss Family Robinson
Over 400 editions of Swiss Family Robinson and related titles (e.g. Lost in Space) kindly donated by a local collector.
A collection of books by and about Kipling, including the Kipling Journal.
- Staff publications - preservation copies of publications by staff of the University
- Victoria University periodicals - occasional papers, working papers, University calendars, student magazines such as the Spike and Salient, and staff newsletters
- Victoria University Press - a preservation copy of each publication from Victoria University Press.