ORCiD An ORCiD ID is a persistent digital identifier for an individual researcher. It is a way to disambiguate researchers with similar names and is being increasingly used by publishers and databases. At the minimum, researchers should make public their current employer. Researchers have control over their own ORCiD and what is publicly displayed.
Google Scholar is a freely searchable database of scholarly work that includes the option of setting up a profile that lists works and provides some metrics including an h-index. The profile is not intended to be an author identifier, requires a verified institutional email to be public and has semi-automatic updates.
Dimensions is a searchable platform that has a public and a subscription interface. The scope of the database includes open access and subscription publications. It uses algorithms to connect authors and their works to create a researcher profile. The profile uses sources such as publicly facing ORCiDs with institutional affiliations. The result can be analysed further with the analytical views feature.
Many institutions have modules that integrate with research management systems to display a templated researcher profile on the institutional website. These are linked to employment at that institution.
A profile page is a calling card for potential funding partners, research collaborators, postgraduate students, media, and others. It is a powerful tool for sharing valuable information about you and your research.
Scopus Author Identifier. Scopus authors are assigned a unique identifier for disambiguation. When an author has published several works a profile is created and is available to Scopus subscribers. The profile matching is based on algorithms and can be amended by authors. Scopus enables the populating of an ORCiD profile with verified publication data. A Scopus profile lists indexed publications and metrics and can be exported to SciVal for analysis or used in a report.
SSRN (Social Science Research Network) is owned by Elsevier. It is an open access preprint community. Researchers can use the SSRN Author Home Page for contact information, publication lists and download counts. The Author Profile page is publicly accessible and is created when you create and account and begin uploading your works on SSRN.
ReseacherID on Publons uses information from the Web of Science (which is owned by Clarivate Analytics) and other sources to generate a publicly accessible profile. It can include publications, work as a peer reviewer and editor and metrics from the Web of Science. The researcher creates and maintain it themselves.
Kudos Pro is a database specifically designed to increase the reach and impact of research. Free 60 day trial access. It provides an attractive platform to promote and monitor metrics and the platform includes a dashboard that tracks and collates views. Partners with Clarivate and Altmetrics.
Developing and maintaining a personal website means that it is not associated with an institution or a publisher. It offers control of the information and how it is displayed. However, the information can’t be authenticated (as ORCiD does) and it takes an investment of time to keep it updated.
Here are some ideas:
Research Impact Challenge
ORCiD (Open Researcher & Contributor ID) is a non-profit, open-source digital author identifier. It helps solve name ambiguity in research and scholarly communications by creating a central registry of unique identifiers for individual researchers.
We recommend you authorise Elements to collect from your ORCiD iD. Every public record in your ORCiD profile will then flow through to your Elements profile.
Click below to see what happens after pushing the big blue button
You can also add works to your ORCiD iD in a number of manual ways: