J.C. Beaglehole Room (Special Materials) Collection SLCS: Reviewing

This statement provides a framework for collection development and management activities within Victoria University of Wellington Library's Special Materials Collection.

Preservation

Items are assessed for preservation on a case by case basis.

Digitisation

Resources may be digitised as part for preservation purposes on an ongoing basis. Digitisation projects for access purposes are assessed on a case by case basis.

Relegation

Print published items in the Special Materials Collection will not be relegated. Any reappraisal of unpublished collections will be undertaken with full consultation with donors and any other interested parties.

Re-appraisal will be conducted in order to refine and strengthen holdings, with the objective of increasing their usability and use by researchers. It will not be driven by space considerations. It will be conducted in accordance with ethics, professional standards for best practice and collection planning.

Deselection

Per the Collection Development and Management Policy section 4.1., the Special Materials Collection is excluded from the steady state library. However, the following areas of the Collection could be considered for reappraisal:

  • “Association” documents without any annotations or bookplates, e.g. duplicate volumes retained because they were donated by a University or prominent figure but which are a) outside the Library’s CDP, or b) in worse condition than an open access Library copy (which should be transferred to the Special Materials Collection)
  • Z537.2 collection: an attempt to collect for the study of 1990s publishing in NZ. Some items have heavy use for particular subject content, but the collection was never comprehensive and could be re-appraised
  • Copies of Commission of Inquiry records, when they duplicate the official records held at Archives New Zealand

Re-appraisal will be conducted in order to refine and strengthen holdings, with the objective of increasing their usability and use by researchers. It will not be driven by space considerations. It will be conducted in accordance with ethics, professional standards for best practice and collection planning.

Other guidelines/considerations

The J.C. Beaglehole Room (Special Materials) Collection is a non-lending collection, and as such supports teaching, learning and research across the University without damage to unique and precious resources. Due to the nature of the main and sub-collections it is difficult to predict future collection directions, and collection development is often reliant upon opportunities such as auctions or donations.