Guides: News sources: Key resources

Contact us

Email Me

You can search Te Waharoa for newspapers by clicking on the Newspaper Articles tab.

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre Plus This link opens in a new window
Combines Australasian focused information from Australian and New Zealand magazines, newspapers and news wires, reference books, and company information. Covers Design topics, but possibly more from magazines than peer-reviewed journals.
Australia and New Zealand Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Access leading Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Date coverage varies by publication but generally goes back to the early 2000s.
Gale OneFile: Australia and New Zealand This link opens in a new window
A regional focus complemented by global news. Features magazines, journals but also news and multimedia sources.
NewzTextPlus This link opens in a new window
Provides access to key newspapers and business publications, including some full-text articles of National Business Review.

Financial Times (London)
Direct access.
The New York Times
Use the top link and create an account to get access to The New York Times. Use the other other links to access The New York Times archive.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Tick 'Newspapers' under 'Source type' from the search result page.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports and more.
Provides access to global news contents such as newspapers and trade magazines, including continuously updated newswires.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Access the full text of over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers.

PressReader This link opens in a new window
A full-colour, full-page collection of today's newspapers from around the world.

Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Searches across the archives of the Economist, Illustrated London News, Listener, Times, and the Burney Collection (one of the largest and most comprehensive collections of early English news media).
Papers Past This link opens in a new window
Papers Past contains more than two million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers and periodicals. The collection covers the years 1839 to 1945 and includes 80 publications from all regions of New Zealand.