Guides: Streaming video: Key resources

Streaming video resources - by Subject

Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
An arts and humanities resource strong in the social sciences and history, containing a collection of more than 60,000 videos. Includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and thousands of award-winning films. Click here for help with using this database.

eTV
A large collection of off-air recorded television programmes. Its videos can be watched, clipped, linked or and downloaded for teaching purposes. Staff and students may request the recording of any Freeview programme either in advance, or up to 14 days after the screening date. Click here for several help videos on using this database.
Kanopy streaming videos
A large multidisciplinary streaming video collection of both documentary and feature film. PLEASE NOTE: Some titles are inaccessible and are not part of the current collection. If you need such a film for research or teaching please complete the online request form and a staff member will get back to you. Click here for help with using this database.

O'Reilly This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of streaming videos, ebooks and online tutorials in the subject areas of business, software development and hardware, hard sciences, web and mobile technology.
Access Note
New users Select "Institution not listed?" link. Enter your University staff/student email address and select "Let's Go". In the welcome email you receive follow the link to create an account.
Existing users Select "Institution not listed?" link. Select "Already a user?" and then sign in using your O'Reilly account.

Education in Video
Education in Video is the first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. This release now provides 4,241 titles, equaling approximately 1270 hours.
Click here for help with using this database
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume I & II
Videos of counseling sessions and demonstrations, lectures, presentations, and interviews.
Click here for help with using this database.

Visual History Archive - Shoah Foundation
Needs an access note: “Please Note: each user will be required to create a user name and password the first time sign in by click the 'Register' from the home page.”

Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Provides access to recent theatre productions and a wealth of supplementary material.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
UK based, Drama Online features exclusively available playtext content and scholarly publications with filmed live performances, film adaptations and audio plays.
Theatre In Video This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 250 of the world's most important plays, plus more than 100 documentaries. Includes live 1950s television broadcasts, contemporary revivals of classic works and experimental performances from the 1960s and 1970s.
Click here for help with using this database.
Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
A large multidisciplinary streaming video collection of both documentary and feature film. PLEASE NOTE: Some titles are inaccessible and are not part of the current collection. If you need such a film for research or teaching please complete the online request form and a staff member will get back to you.
Click here for help with using this database.

Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new window
Get access to all of the orchestra's concerts from the Philharmonie Berlin, the Europakonzert, and Waldbühne concert, live and through the archive. Access Note: Users need to register, which must be done while on campus. Get access from off campus, on any device, by logging in to the website, or the app, using the email address and password you used when you registered.

Medici.tv
A HD website containing over 1600 video recordings of classical music performances (orchestra, instrumental, opera, educational). Is also available for mobile and tablet. Videos are continually being updated with recent performances and opera productions. Around 100 live events are streamed each year.

Music Online: Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
A collection of about 300 streaming videos of staged operas. Covers important works of the operatic canon, and includes interviews and documentaries.
Click here for help with using this database.

Journal of Visualised Experiments (JoVE)
A peer-reviewed, scientific video journal, featuring demonstrations of lab techniques in science research. And Science Education videos that teach fundamental concepts in science and engineering.
O'Reilly This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of streaming videos, ebooks and online tutorials in the subject areas of business, software development and hardware, hard sciences, web and mobile technology.
Access Note
New users Select "Institution not listed?" link. Enter your University staff/student email address and select "Let's Go". In the welcome email you receive follow the link to create an account.
Existing users Select "Institution not listed?" link. Select "Already a user?" and then sign in using your O'Reilly account.