Law

Welcome to your law subject guide. Law Subject Librarians have identified in this guide the best resources for your study and research. Contact them if you need help.

Library new resources RSS feeds

Generic feed icon  Find an introduction to RSS feeds in News feeds - staying informed.  RSS feeds are distributed by the host website when content updates occur. Registering to receive the RSS feed alert is referred to as 'subscribing to the feed' and it is free of charge. RSS feeds are not delivered to your email Inbox so you need to set up a tool to collate your RSS feeds. Find more details in News feeds - staying informed. Options include collating your RSS feeds using:

  • a feed reader
  • your web browser
  • Microsoft Outlook

Generic feed icon  The Library new resources RSS feeds include:

  • the small selection of new items displayed weekly on the Law Library New Resources display in GBG25
  • new items at the other campus libraries
  • new titles available online

Subscribe to each subject area RSS feed that interests you.

Generic feed icon  View the Law new resources RSS feed. This page lists a short archive of new titles relevant to Law. When you subscribe to an RSS feed you can choose the length of the archive you retain.

You can subscribe to other current awareness RSS feeds. Many websites, including government and publisher websites, provide RSS feeds containing news and updates.

Journal TOC alerts

You can register to receive the table of contents (TOC) of new journal issues as soon as they are available by using journal TOC alerts. You can receive TOC alerts for individual journal titles through:

  • RSS feeds
  • email alerts

Receive TOC alerts for journal titles available in the library in print format and library electronic journals. To keep well-informed about your subject area use TOC alerts for journal titles not available through the library. Journal TOC alerting services vary by publisher and by journal title. Some publishers host them on their websites. Try setting up a TOC alert for your favourite journal using the links below.

Generic feed icon HeinOnline Law Journal Library. Open each title of interest to subscribe to the RSS feed or set up a MyHein account to register for the email table of contents (eTOC) alert.

Generic feed icon  Westlaw New Zealand and Thomson Reuters Westlaw. Contact the Law Subject Librarians to get a OnePass account so you can set up email or RSS feed publication alerts and What's New content updates for specific titles.

Generic feed icon Index to Legal Periodicals. Open the Publications link and open the feed icon link for each title of interest. Subscribe to the RSS feed or set up an EBSCOhost account to register for the email alert.

Generic feed icon LegalTrac. Open each title of interest and use the Create Journal Alert link to enter your email address or subscribe to the RSS feed.

Generic feed icon JournalTOCs. Follow each title of interest and use the Save & Export instructions to subscribe to RSS feeds. Set up a JournalTOCs account to register for email alerts.

Not all journal titles have an RSS feed or email TOC alerting service. You can keep up-to-date with these journals using database search alerts.

Database search alerts

Set up personal search alerts within databases to save time with your research. Search alerts will notify you of new items that meet your search criteria.

Keep your literature search up-to-date using these example search alerts:

  • keyword or phrase searches for current awareness on a topic
  • author name searches for publications by experts in your field
  • journal title searches for the most recent articles from specific publications (see also Journal TOC alerts)
  • your name to track your research impact

To set up search alerts from library databases you usually need to register yourself for a personal user account within each individual database. Try setting up an account in your favourite database or get started with search alerts using the details below.

Bell notification icon  Te Waharoa, the library search. Sign in using your Victoria University of Wellington student/staff username and password. My Account saves your Search history and search alert options.

Bell notification icon  HeinOnline Law Journal Library. From an author profile page, enter your email address to receive alerts for new articles by the author or new citations to articles by the author.

Bell notification icon  Westlaw New Zealand and Thomson Reuters Westlaw. Contact the Law Subject Librarians to get a OnePass account so you can save your searches, set up alerts and elect to receive What's New content updates for specific titles.

Bell notification icon  Google Alerts. Use Google's Expert Search Tips to create precise searches in Google Alerts and enter your email address to receive notification of new web content.